Arjo is co-sponsoring the RCNi wound prevention and treatment Nurse Awards 2019

The search for the best of the best in nursing has begun with the launch of the RCNi Nurse Awards 2019, the profession's top accolade.

RCNi Nurse Awards

Nurses, students and healthcare assistants are invited to share their innovations and expertise while celebrating their contribution to making patient care better and improving outcomes.

Entries are open to individuals and teams in 18 categories covering the diversity of nursing.

The Patient’s Choice category, which gives patients an opportunity to nominate a nurse or healthcare assistant who has made a difference to their lives, will be decided by a public vote.

The RCN Nurse of the Year 2019 will be announced at the awards ceremony in London on July 3, chosen from the category winners.

The current holder of the title is arrhythmia nurse specialist Angela Hall, who impressed the judges by leading the introduction of a new drug to treat rapid onset atrial fibrillation at Jersey General Hospital.

‘Being named RCN Nurse of the Year 2018 has been massively rewarding in so many ways,' she says. ‘It has raised my profile and resulted in further achievements in my specialist field.’

The judging panel will be chaired by Yvonne Coghill, NHS England’s director of workforce race equality standard. The RCN Fellow was made CBE this year for her services to racial equality in the NHS.

Ms Coghill says: ‘Overseeing these prestigious awards is a privilege and honour and I very much look forward to reading the many wonderful nominations I know we will receive showcasing the hardworking and innovated nurses we have in the UK.’

RCNi managing director Rachel Armitage says: ‘We know nurses in all areas are increasingly under pressure but they still deliver exceptional innovation and outstanding, compassionate patient care day in, day out.

‘The RCNi Nurse Awards are a chance to recognise those achievements and we are looking forward to celebrating the strength and diversity of the profession.'

The extended deadline for entries is Friday 15 February. Visit for the full details.

About the RCNi Nurse Awards 2019

RCNi Nurse Awards Ceremony 2019 will be taking place on Wednesday 3 July 2019 at the Westminster Bridge Park Plaza, London.

The RCNi Nurse Awards are in their 32nd year and are the most prestigious such accolades in nursing.

The 20 categories for the RCNi Nurse Awards 2019 are:

  • Team of the Year
  • Innovations in your Specialty
  • Infection Prevention and Control
  • Excellence in Diabetes Care
  • Promoting Continence
  • Wound Prevention and Treatment
  • Respiratory Nursing
  • Student Nurse
  • Healthcare Assistant
  • Commitment to Carers
  • Leadership
  • Mental Health Practice
  • Learning Disability Practice
  • Excellence in Cancer Research
  • Cancer Nursing
  • Nursing Older People
  • Community Nursing
  • Child Health
  • Emergency Nursing
  • Patient’s Choice

An overall winner from the above categories will be named Nurse of The Year

To sponsor the Nurse Awards please contact a member of our Sponsorship Team on 020 8872 3118 or email sales@rcni.comfor further information.

For more information about the RCNi Nurse Awards please visit
Watch RCNi Nurse Awards 2018 highlights here:

For more information and RCNi Nurse Awards case studies, contact the Awards Manager, Katie Shopland, at 0208 872 3134.